Well a new quilt on the horizon

Standard

20140402-194535.jpg

20140402-194621.jpg

I have been wanting to try an Amish inspired quilt for a long time. I just love the use of vibrant colours against the black. A little while ago I was scrolling through Pinterest when I came across Amish quilt front

20140402-195150.jpg

I was determined to make one of these but wasn’t sure how it would be so, I decided it was time to try a miniature quilt. I visited a shop in Mt Waverley called Somerset Patchwork and they had some lovely Emma Louise Fabric so I purchased 1/2 metre of each fabric. Initially I was thinking I would make an Amish bar but decided I preferred this style more. I really wanted a different colour rather than producing an almost replica quilt. So I purchased 1/2 metre of Tangerine Emma Louise Fabric from Oz quilts one of my favourite online stores.

Then came the tough nutting out of making this miniature so armed with a pencil and a ruler I began to draw the design and workout the cutting measurements. This was then all placed away in a box ready for cutting. On hindsight I should have cut it out then and there as I would have remembered what was cutting size and what was my finished size. Yesterday I cut this out and went to my sewing group only to find out some of it I had cut to big so I needed to cut some of the fabric down and I needed my thinking brain in action. Fortunately I needed to cut it down and not add any.

I proceeded to sew and work on it and came home and finished it last night. I was so delighted that I placed this photo on facebook.

20140402-200133.jpg

When I received a lovely message from a dear quilting friend who had noticed I had made a mistake, I ask you to look for it, even leave me a comment if you like. So this morning I set out and fixed the mistake.
Now for the backing I checked my fabric and I will make a backing in the style of an Amish or Welsh bar quilt, with the leftover fabrics from the front.

Plan for tomorrow it to baste the quilt after I have place my design on and start my hand quilting. Be sure to look out for coming posts on the quilting. This is certainly going to be a fun project. I am calling this quilt “Gelato”

Until next time have fun and enjoy life,

Wendy

>

20140402-201536.jpg

20140402-201552.jpg

20140402-201606.jpg

20140402-201621.jpg

20140402-201639.jpg

20140402-201650.jpg

One thought on “Well a new quilt on the horizon

  1. Love how this flimsy turned out.. you did a great job on the final piece… So excited for you to dig into it hand quilting… just like the amish did but with fun colors… Gelato is perfect for this little quilt 🙂 Kathi

Leave a Reply

