Day full of cooking and sewing

Standard

I have just taken these out of the oven. These are a favourite snack I my household although one daughter prefers them without the sultanas. They are the perfect snack for a coffee or to put In the lunchbox. They can be frozen and taken out from the freezer when needed, they could also be nice warm with a dollop of cream or ice cream for dessert. Whilst I was making this batch I decided I would share my recipe with you. So here it is:-

Apple sultana scone scrolls

3 cups of self raising flour
About 3/4 to a cup of vanilla low fat yoghurt

Mix these ingredients until a soft dough is formed. Knead a little until smooth on a flour dusted bench top. Roll out to form a rectangle to a thickness of about 1/2 inch thick.

Spread a thin layer of butter over the rectangle, then sprinkle with brown sugar over the butter and then lightly with cinnamon. Cut an apple with skin on into small 1/4″ cubes and sprinkle over top of rectangle then sprinkle a few sultanas over this.

Then roll your rectangle up so it forms a long sausage. Cut this into 16 slices and bake in a oven on top shelves at 200 degrees Celsius for 12 minutes.

Let cool on a rack or enjoy straight from the oven.

20140220-210457.jpg

These two blocks are on their way to Queensland to be made into a quilt to be raffle of to raise money for drought relief in chinchilla. I made these from fabrics from my stash. I also made today another block which is to be made into a wedding quilt for a friend as she never received a wedding quilt.

20140220-211226.jpg

Thanks for reading and I hope you can enjoy my recipe as much as I do

20140220-211912.jpg

all the very best for everyone,
Please visit me again,

wendy Gontier

4 thoughts on “Day full of cooking and sewing

Leave a Reply

